The Disorientation

Replaying Red Dead Redemption II

Technically, I never really did finish the game. I never completed the epilogue, but I had an itch for an open world game and this fit the bill.

Just made it to Horseshoe Overlook and started exploring the area around Valentine. Doing some hunting and bounty collecting. Talking to folks. Petting dogs. Buying clothes and weapons. Growing the absolute shit out of my beard and hair so I look like an axe murderer. Stuff like that.

I'm really taking my time, too. It's one of those games where I can just walk around for half and hour and have a good time. Take in the sights. Listen to the world. Meet interesting people. Take photos of genuinely beautiful sites with the in-game camera. I never felt that with GTA, for example. GTA 5 felt kind of empty, even though I loved Los Santos. I don't think I've really felt this way about another game, either. The closest would probably be Tamriel from Skyrim, but that game shows its ages at points.

But RDR II is something else.

I forgot just how immersive this game is. How beautiful it is. The way the clouds form and roll, the way the wind sways Arthur's hair and jacket, the leaves and the trees going back and forth, the lightning lighting up the entire sky in this really beautiful metallic blue, the raindrops hitting the ground, the hard green of the grass and the yellow-orange of the dust kicking up in the air, the puddles and mud, all of the animals and the people. It's all so incredibly beautiful. I think it's one of the best looking games out right now and its like five years old already. Can't imagine what GTA 6 will look like.

Anyway, thought I write a little something about I game I love.