The Disorientation

Saying Goodbye to a Part of my Childhood

I used to watch this channel called "Funhaus" as a teen. They mainly produced gameplay videos and had dumb, often childish humor. I would watch them whenever I got home from school. Their videos were a highlight of my day. A sort of reprieve from a shitty day at school. I found them when I was in middle school, I think. Back when they were called "Inside Gaming." I must've watched them for ten years at this point.

As I grew older, my sense of humor changed and so I stopped watching them. I just didn't find their type of humor funny anymore, nor did I enjoy watching gameplay videos anymore. Plus, it became apparent that one of the members was a genuinely terrible and toxic person. That person left the company, but it made re-watching their older content kind of weird.

So I forgot about them.

They operated under Rooster Teeth, a company that made stuff like Red vs. Blue, Achievement Hunter, Let's Play and things like that. Video game focused content. Real pioneers in early internet humor and content.

Rooster Teeth recently announced they'd be shutting down, along with all other facets of their brand. Funhaus, included.

It's kind of surreal watching this happen. Even though I haven't watched them in years, they were still such a big part of my childhood. I remember laughing so much while watching their videos, to the point that my stomach hurt or it'd hurt to even smile.

And now they're no more. Kind of hard to put to words. I was watching their final goodbye stream and found myself almost tearing up. To this day I still reference their bits and jokes (to anyone who knows them, I'll reference things like "scrobbles" "B is for Bruce! B is for Brave!" and "Ska came before Reggae").

Anyway, I don't really have any deep, analytical words. Just kind of weird seeing something I loved as a kid cease to exist.

Take care.